Las Vegas, NV — The International Association of Gaming Advisors (IAGA) announced today the recipients of the 2015 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award, an annual program that awards prizes for the best scholarly research papers written on relevant gaming topics by accredited law school students as part of their class work during the school year. Annual submissions are solicited from law students globally and judged by a committee of IAGA member attorneys practicing gaming law. The 2015 scholarship recipients are:
  • Mary Tran: “Joint Employers: The Nevada Casino Operator’s Role in Regulating Labor Conditions of Venue Employees”
  • Todd Weiss: “The Reality of (Daily) Fantasy Sports”
Both 2015 winning papers were submitted by University of Nevada, Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law students. IAGA also awarded an Honorable Mention to UNLV Boyd School of Law student Kevin Schweitzer for his scholarly article “Edge Sorting: A Chance for Courts to Sort Out the Law for Advantage Play”. All winning papers can be viewed at
“The Bybee Scholarship is an excellent way to encourage the next generation of gaming industry leaders to become engaged in critical gaming issues,” commented Jennifer Roberts, Bybee Scholarship Committee Co-Chair and Partner with Duane Morris, a US-based law firm specializing in a wide range of gaming matters. “Our 2015 winning papers are no exception: this year we received a wide range of articles covering everything from daily fantasy sports to joint employer liability issues and are very pleased with the submissions we received overall.”
The Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award was established to honor the memory of Shannon Bybee, one of IAGA’s founders who had a distinguished career as a gaming attorney, Nevada regulator, industry executive and pioneer in the field of education in casino operations and gaming law. Inducted into the American Gaming Association’s Hall of Fame in 2002 because of his significant contributions to responsible gaming, Bybee also played an important role in the development of problem gambling regulations and advocacy.
This year’s Bybee Scholarship Award was sponsored by the State Bar of Nevada Gaming Law Section (GLS). Additional information about GLS can be found online at
2016 Deadline for Submissions Announced
IAGA also announced that the 2016 deadline for submissions will be July 15, and the winning papers will be announced during the 2016 IAGA Honors Luncheon held during the Global Gaming Expo (G2E) exhibition in Las Vegas. Established in 2013 to recognize the significant contributions of gaming industry executives, IAGA’s first honoree was gaming attorney Bob Faiss, followed by 2014 honoree Bill Boyd of Boyd Gaming and 2015 recipient Frank Schreck of Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck.
Additional information about entry requirements and the IAGA Shannon Bybee Scholarship Committee is available at
- - -

About IAGA
The International Association of Gaming Advisors (IAGA) is a 35-year old organization of gaming advisors that provides its members with commercially relevant engagement, education and integration in the gaming industry. With a global membership that includes a broad array of gaming industry attorneys, senior executives, financial advisors, regulators, consultants and academics, the IAGA provides a collaborative forum for discussing the key issues affecting global gaming today. For more information or to become a member or sponsor, visit
IAGA Annual Sponsors
IAGA is generously supported by the following annual sponsors whose financial contributions make the Association’s annual and other events possible:
Platinum Sponsors: Greenberg Traurig, IGT, MGM Resorts International and Vantiv.
Gold Sponsors: Fox Rothschild and Scientific Games.