Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award
The Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award was established to honor the memory of Shannon Bybee, one of IAGA’s founders who had a distinguished gaming career as a gaming attorney, Nevada regulator, industry executive and pioneer in the field of education in casino operations and gaming law. Inducted into the American Gaming Association’s Hall of Fame in 2002 because of his significant contributions to responsible gaming, Bybee also played an important role in the development of problem gambling regulations and advocacy.

To honor Bybee’s contributions to gaming, each year IAGA awards prizes for the best scholarly research papers written by accredited law school students as part of their class work during the current school year. Annual submissions are solicited from law students on a global basis and judged by a committee of IAGA member attorneys practicing gaming law. To be considered for the award, each submitted paper must either enhance the understanding of gaming law or recommend a beneficial gaming law change. When selecting each year's Award recipients, the Scholarship Committee evaluates each paper on its: 

  • quality of presentation
  • quality of footnoting
  • depth of research
  • novelty or importance of subject matter
  • value to gaming law practitioners or gaming control officials
  • value to the study of gaming law

This year's Bybee Scholarships are made possible by the generous sponsorship of Everi. 

altEveri is a leading supplier of technology solutions for the casino gaming industry. The Company provides casino operators with a diverse portfolio of products including innovative gaming machines that power the casino floor, and casino operational and management systems that include comprehensive, end-to-end payments solutions, critical intelligence offerings, and gaming operations efficiency technology. Everi’s mission is to be a transformative force for casino operations by facilitating memorable player experiences, delivering reliable protection and security, and striving for customer satisfaction and operational excellence.


2019 Scholarship Recipients

2018 Scholarship Recipients

2017 Scholarship Recipients

2015 Scholarship Recipients

2015 Honorable Mention

2014 Scholarship Recipients

2013 Scholarship Recipients

2013 Honorable Mention Recipient

2012 Scholarship Recipients

  • "The Curious Case of Convenience Casinos: How Internet sweepstakes cafes survive in a gray area between unlawful gambling and legitimate business promotions." Submitted by Steve Silver of Temple University Beasley School of Law.
  • "Cyber Thieves in Online Casinos:  Applying Real-World Laws to Virtual Acts." Submitted by Jeffrey Brown of the University of Mississippi School of Law.

2012 Honorable Mention Recipient

  • "Creating the Law". Submitted by Jaime E. Serrano Jr., William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Nevada, Las Vegas



Shown above: 2015 students who submitted papers for the 2015 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award